5K · Fitness · Health · weight loss

Throwing a pity party

Eventually I knew I would come to a point in my weight loss that I would hit a plateau. I was prepared for that. What I was not prepared for was a dramatic weight gain. Even though it wasn’t a weigh in day for me, I weighed myself this morning hoping to see a loss after gaining 0.8 pounds last week.

Does this look like a tornado to you? Yeah. Me too. (It wasn't, but it was still enough to scare me.)
Does this look like a tornado to you? Yeah. Me too. (It wasn’t, but it was still enough to scare me.)

Big mistake — now I know I’m up a total of four pounds. I don’t know what the problem is. For the most part, I have been working out. I didn’t go yesterday, but we had MONSTER storms all day and spending an hour in a glass building under a tornado watch and thunderstorm warnings was NOT on my to-do list.

I have been good on my diet. There is every reason for me to be losing weight and zero reasons for me to be gaining it.

The morning weigh in put me in a funk all day to the point where several times I was in tears. (Including now as I am trying to write this). It’s hard to be doing everything right and getting the opposite results from what I have earned.

The view out my office window Wednesday afternoon. This happened all. Day. Long.
The view out my office window Wednesday afternoon. This happened all. Day. Long.

I didn’t want to go to the gym today, but I forced myself to go. It was the first time going to the gym didn’t make me feel better.

I did the same Couch to 5K day I have been working on successfully for two weeks now and I absolutely could not finish it today. I ended up walking about three of the six running segments because I couldn’t breathe. I am hoping it was just an asthma attack and not another sign of failure.

I’m not giving up on my weight loss, but this has been a really hard week. I either need this pity party to pass on its own, or to see some kind of progress, because where I am stuck at now is nothing short of miserable.