5K · Fitness · Health · Sucess · weight loss

First 5K is in the books


A few fireworks were set off before the start of Saturday evening's 5K in St. James, Mo.
A few fireworks were set off before the start of Saturday evening’s 5K in St. James, Mo.

I successfully walked my first 5K last night – other than the cramping toes, it felt pretty good! I was definitely tired by the time it was over, and the last mile was kind of miserable (my headphones chose to die 2 miles in) but the satisfaction of having finished the race cancelled all that out.

I by no means set any kind of speed records, but I did have plenty of energy left to run the last 100 yards to the finish line. I am still waiting on my official time, but I think I finished somewhere around 52 minutes. I’m happy with that because, A. I finished. B. I wasn’t last. C. There’s LOTS of room for improvement for next time.

Not gonna lie, I was SUPER nervous going into it. While I have been working out all year, I have never attempted this distance. I thought about bailing several times throughout the day, through the drive to the neighboring town, and even after I registered. I had to prove to myself that I could to it.

I’m not quite sure I’d say that this first 5K makes me want to go out and do more, but I hope as I get more and more fit, the races will get easier to do and THAT will make me want to do more and more. The next one I am signed up for is at the end of April. My goal originally was to be able to run that entire race. I am going to have to re-evaluate that goal a little bit.

I think it is more realistic to set a goal for running the first mile f that race maybe, and go from there. I would rather set smaller goals and be able to meet them than be disappointed because I failed.

Off to the store to buy myself a reward for finishing the race — new headphones!

Me after finishing my first 5K.
Me after finishing my first 5K.

2 thoughts on “First 5K is in the books

Leave a comment