Posted in Fitness

Big results take big changes


sl_eml_1046547

I’ve been a member at Anytime Fitness for about a year. I’ve managed to go about once a month. Not sure what kind of results I expected from that, but clearly it didn’t help.

As the editor of a newspaper, I have a pretty crazy schedule. I never know what I am going to be doing from day to day — when I am going to be going to work, or when I am going to get out of work, so having a gym that is open 24 hours a day is pretty important to me. That way I can’t use ‘they gym is closed’ as an excuse.

I have promised myself I am going to get some kind of exercise in AT LEAST five days a week, hopefully more. So far I have stuck to that promise pretty well. I am not seeing any changes in what my body looks like yet, but I am feeling the changes in my body already. I feel more fit, have more energy and my stamina is definitely improving.

Today I did 45 minutes on the recumbent bike and 15 minutes on the elliptical. I was tired after the workout, but it was a good tired. Only two weeks ago there was no chance I could have done what I did today. It felt great.

One thing about me, I hate running. I mean I really HATE running. I’ve decided it is time for me to get over that though. Tonight I signed up for my first 5K. The race, called the Color Run  is at the end of April in St. Louis. I am going to start training for it. Hopefully by the end of April I will have lost enough weight and built up my stamina to the point where I can run the entire race. Even if I only walk it, I will be proud of myself as long as I finish it.

I’ve been told that running 5Ks can be really addictive. I hope that’s accurate. Someday I would like to complete a Warrior Dash. Baby steps for now though. I think the Color Run is a good, fun place to start.

Right now I wear a XXL t-shirt. I only ordered a XL shirt from the race website. I have 13 weeks to fit into it.

color-run-

One thought on “Big results take big changes

Leave a Reply

